Financial Services Institute names new officers, board members

The Financial Services Institute (FSI) announced the election of three new directors for its 2018 board along with its new slate of officers

The newest board members are Ed Forst, president and CEO of Lincoln Investment Planning; Chris Maryanopolis, president of Signator Investors; and Scott Spiker, chairman of the board and CEO of First Command.

The board also elected five of its directors to leadership positions – including Dean Harman, CEO of Harman Wealth Management, who will chair the board in 2018. David Knoch, president, 1st Global will be vice chair, while Richard Lampen, president and CEO, Ladenburg Thalmann Financial Services will serve as immediate past chair.

Scott Curtis, president, Raymond James Financial Services, was also named finance chair and John Rooney, managing principal, Commonwealth Financial Network, was named PAC chair.

“Our membership has been blessed once again with a strong, diverse and visionary board,” FSI President and CEO Dale Brown said. “The CEOs and financial advisors who lead our board understand the critical nature of our advocacy and how it impacts their businesses and their clients. They will not only lead FSI, but the entire industry, into a brighter future.”

Harman will become the second financial advisor to be chairman of the board.

“With so much happening in Washington and the states, FSI is more critical than ever, and it’s a great honor to lead the board in these challenging times,” Harman said.

Knoch said the voice of independent financial advisors and financial services firms has never been more indispensable.

“With polarizing headlines pulling the industry’s focus away from where it should be — serving American families in desperate need of competent and comprehensive financial advice — FSI’s 13-year track record of constructive engagement with key regulators and elected officials has never been more valuable,” Knoch said. “I’m proud to serve the more than 100 independent financial services firms and their 160,000+ affiliated financial advisors who constitute FSI’s dynamic membership.”

In addition to the new board members, Adam Antoniades, Cetera Financial Group; Valerie Brown, Advisor Group; Richard Bryant, Capital Investment Companies; Kent Christian, Wells Fargo Advisors Financial Network; Bill Dowell (financial advisor); Joe Himelick (financial advisor); Tony Lajeunesse (financial advisor); Kimberly Kropp (financial advisor); Shawn McLaughlin, McLaughlin Ryder Investments; and James Poer, Kestra Financial, will continue serving on the board.

Seth Miller, Transamerica Financial Advisors and Amy Webber, Cambridge Investment Research, will roll off the board at the end of this term.